Posted on

A breakthrough!

Hi!
Today begins week 4 of the Sorribes experiment, and I think I have worked out all of the kinks.
I needed to find a way to sleep in the Clips since without one, I’d only be using that product for about 4 hours a day (since I prefer not to wear them at work).
And so, I found one. It really wasn’t anything innovative or exciting. I took an over-the-counter pain-killer about an hour before bed, and then just “toughed it out.”
The first night was rough. The second night, a bit easier. By the third night I didn’t need any drugs. I just fell asleep normally. Though I can’t say I’m not aware of the slight discomfort the Clips cause, it’s no longer painful. At all. I feel a few more nights will get me totally used to it. So here is my new “Sorribes Schedule.” I’m hoping to keep this as consistent as possible.

7am- Take off the Clips, Shower, Replace the Strips
7pm- Put on the Clips

So this means the Strips are worn 24 hours a day, and the Clips about 12 hours.
I am hoping 12 hours is enough to make an impact.

I don’t really see any difference cosmetically, but I do have a couple of new ear shots for you.

In other news, I took a few minutes to do some new research on the product, and I found this:

I’m not posting it because it’s a convincing testimonial, but because I think this guy does a pretty good job of demonstrating how to use both the Strips and the Clips (something my videos lack!)
He seems to feel the product worked for him after two months, but doesn’t offer any before and after pictures.

My video is done, but I barely have the time to edit at the moment, because it’s a very busy time of year at my place of work.
You will see it up for SURE by next Wednesday, and it answers all of your questions, gives tips, and a fresh demo that you can follow step-by-step.

 

Question of the week:

Can ANYONE tell me about a Sorribes experience lasting for more than 3 months?
Did it work?
Did it not work?
Did you get frustrated and give up?
Anything to share with us at all?

Please comment below.
Thanks and have an awesome week!

Megan

15 responses to “A breakthrough!

  1. bs ⋅

    At the end of that video are a bunch of other videos. One of them is for http://www.eartucks.com, which seems to be a cheaper version of the clear adhesive.

  2. Ian ⋅

    Hi Megan,

    Good work, glad you’ve found a solution for sleeping in the clips, that’s a real issue and I’m still looking for one… although I wear them throughout the night, they just appear to cut into the ears (mainly on one side) which is the side I generally sleep on I imagine, and it is just soooo painful the next day but I’m persevering with it.

    I was going to ask if you had any tips for the pads, as when you purchase the adult kit, it is meant to be a 3 month supply. There are 90 sheets of the strips, so 180 individual strips, which even with my maths works out at 1 set a day, which lasts approx 3 months:) but with the pads, there are 80 pads, so using 2 at a time, I’m expecting them to last approx 40 days. I have contacted Sorribes who inform me that they should be changed every 2/3 days, but I’m finding that they lose their stickiness each day…. any suggestions?

    It’s week 5 for me, no change yet, only very sore ears, at the top by the Antihelical fold…. but here’s hoping it will all be worth it!

    Looking forward to watching your next video, hopefully you’ll show my final 2 points that I’m starting to think I may not be doing 100% correctly

    1) When the strip is on the back of the ear and you are about to fold it back onto itself, do you just bend along the natural existing fold or emphasise the top part of the ear?

    2) When attaching the clip, do you attach it as high on the ear as possible? and really squeeze it on?

    Cheers
    Ian

    • Joel ⋅

      Ian that’s great that your battling through the pain and continuing on track. i agree that the pads go faster than the strips. i would recommend buying an extra set of pads. their expensive but if this tech works then it’s worth an additional 80 bucks to make the experience more comfortable. i think a sleeping aid in addition to a pain killer at night can do the trick but i am a very restless sleep and toss and turn throughout the night. if you have someone that can do it, i would recommend taking a measurement of how far your ears stick out from your head. do it every week and record the measurements. the movement is very very slow and you might not notice a slight change. in fact i think it would be cool if we all kept measurement logs as they describe the effect better than pictures do. i am not currently using the product but when i do i will upload weekly measurements. best of luck to you Ian if this starts to work for you i think it will blow the lid on this whole thing.

      • Joel ⋅

        as for your questions i make the fold right on the antihelical fold. i simply pinch it together once the strip is on and then hold it for a while. make sure you are clean and that there is no hair in the way. when attaching the clip i attach it right at the same place i make the fold, it’s not as high as possible, but the top of the clip is just beneath the top of my ear. i then give the clip a good squeeze. this typically does not cause me pain. i can wear the strips/clips all day without really feeling them. it hurts if i wear a hat though and it really hurts when i sleep.

    • Hi Ian,
      I see your point. It’s like getting 12 hot dogs with only 8 hot dog buns!
      I change the Pads each and every time I apply the Clips. It seems WAY more sanitary, and yes, they do lose stickiness. I think I will contact Sorribes on that one. You should get equal product amounts for daily usage.
      As far as the two questions you have, my video may not be the best way to answer them. For myself, the natural bend and bending the top part, are pretty much the same thing. After looking at many other pictures of ears, I realized mine don’t have much structure at all, so there is really only one place to bend. For your second question, I kinda go for the middle leaning more towards the high side, but there isn’t a lot of…length(?) to my ears, so it doesn’t make a tremendous difference.
      Bye for now,
      Megan

  3. Chris ⋅

    Hey guys… I am confused on how to put the pads on the clips… can anyone give me step by step instructions?

    thanks.

  4. Ian ⋅

    Thanks for your encouragement Joel, I think you’re right about making measurements…
    I think I have similar experiences as you, as I can wear the strips/clips all day if I get the chance, without any problems, I forget they are there after a short while, but likewise it hurts if I wear a hat and also when I sleep.
    As for the pads, I keep looking on Sorribes website and it’s only the strips you can appear to buy separately, the only way to get more pads is when purchasing a refill kit.
    I sent Sorribes a picture of myself wearing the clip and they said I was wearing it incorrectly and it should be as high as possible on the ear, I’ll get the hang of this sooner or later I’m sure, but then again I was never expecting this to be easy,
    Good luck:)

  5. Chris ⋅

    Do you guys know how to put the pads on the clips,,, help please.
    thanks.

    • Hi Chris,
      1.Take the adhesive butterfly-shaped, double-sided sticker-like things and peel one off.
      2.Place the sticker on the side of the Pad that does not have the adhesive on it (opposite the side that you peel off.
      3.Fold the Pad into the Clip so the sticky side attaches the two.
      4. Carefully peel off the Strip from the Pad.

  6. B:) ⋅

    I understand very well your problem and i hope you will resolve it!I follow your experiment waiting for good progress…!!go on and thanks.it’s very usefull for al lot of people!!!

  7. John ⋅

    Has anyone looked at Ear Tucks, it’s a bit tacky (no pun intended) but seems that it uses a similar approach for temporary use. I wonder if used constantly for 3 months or more it might not do the same thing as Sorribes but for a fraction of the cost… http://www.eartucks.com

    • Hey John,
      I just checked out the site, and it does look very similar! I wonder if the product would hold as well since Ear Tucks has you attaching the ear to the head, instead of to itself.

  8. John ⋅

    I found a link to the thing about Nun’s ears, it’s on a website that advocates a new method of Otoplasty… however it says it takes years for thoer ears to flatten… đŸ˜¦

    http://www.ears-forum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=96&sid=8826ab0f1515e855e8fbfd6b42df577d

    TOP: How did you invent your “stitch method”?

    Dr. Merck: I read a publication of an unknown Israeli in 1995 who described how to bring a thread under the skin without a cut. And then there were the nuns. As an ENT doctor I observed that by wearing a wimple for years, the nuns’ ears were flattened to their heads like they’d been glued there. This means that the cartilage re-forms if you force it long enough into a new position.

Leave a comment