Posted on

I got the job!

Yes I did. And I love it!
And as a result, I haven’t been giving my blog much attention. I do apologize for that.
Things remain the same in the world of ear correction. There is no difference at all. I am still working on getting a plastic surgeon to give thoughts on this subject, but nobody has replied yet.
I decided I am going to continue my treatment for another month or so, and after that I will be done with Sorribes products, and I will stop posting videos, and the blog.
I have been using the products accordingly each and every day.
Some people have asked me if I think this is a “scam.” I truly do not think so, but I think the chance of success is MUCH higher for children than adults. I’m 31. My years of ear development are long over. I don’t regret trying this product, and as I said, I am not finished yet, but I am pretty sure there won’t be any changes to the appearance of my ears. I did promise you guys a message board, and before I stop posting in the blog, I will have one up and ready for you. I think it’s important to support each other and get feedback on different method of ear correction. I am VERY interested in how everyone else who is using the products is doing with treatment!! Please post any progress! I know we are all dying to hear!
Cheers!
Megan

13 responses to “I got the job!

  1. Verve ⋅

    Hi Megan,

    I have followed your blog for a while now, and, as a person who’s just as anxious to get his ears corrected, I feel very disappointed with the result. At least now I know the product will not work for me, a 41 y/o male. I really want to thank you for sharing your experience — you’re practically willing to experiment on behalf of many of us.

    As you said you’d continue looking for some professional advise on the use of this Sorribes method, I thought I’d share with you this website where plastic surgeons answer all kinds of questions. You can ask things specific to ear correction at http://www.realself.com/ear-surgery/answers . At first I thought this is just an advertizing scheme. But what I’ve seen so far are honest responses from these doctors. I think you might want to try posting a question or two there.

    IN any case, thank you again for your kindness. Good luck with your quest.

  2. Danny ⋅

    Hi, I’ve followed this blog for awhile. I’ve also been using Sorribes, almost 2 months at this point. My ears have never really protruded very much, but one does stick out slightly more than the other. I’m a male, late 20s. I have seen about 1.5mm improvement, but not really noticeable unless you look very close. I think for very minor changes, and depending how hard your cartilage is – some slight change is possible. I’m not an expert or anything, but I do think some adults have soft enough cartilage in which some improvement can take place.

    The products are somewhat difficult to use and I don’t think Sorribes is always as prompt to reply as they are when you are considering purchasing the product. The clips can also break, I’ve had to glue them back together. Part of this problem, I also should have been given the smaller ones. Sorribes will only sell you a “refill” kit which is like $200. The product itself is very overpriced.

    Another thing, I have wondered if by using the strips so much you are somewhat conditioned to see a change that isn’t really happening. You get used to seeing your ears folded back, but I think that level of improvement is impossible with the system. I am happy there has been slight improvement but it’s so minimal I’m not sure it’s been worth the money yet. They also don’t give you the correct number of pads for strips. I think by wearing the strips and putting on a tight headband that keeps your ears folded back you essentially have almost the same effect. I had tried this in the past and it was painful, but after using Sorribes it is not anymore, so I assume it has helped a bit. The clam is difficult at first and removing it can be painful. I don’t use it as much as before, but try to get at least 45 minutes a day using it.

    Personally, I think if the system was improved to have a more ergonomic clip to work with the strips, it could work better for everyone.

    Anyways, I just wanted to share my personal view of Sorribes and wish everyone well who is using the system.

  3. Danny ⋅

    Another thing, not sure if anyone else has noticed, but that “Sofie” girl was removed from the website.

  4. Rahul ⋅

    Hi Megan. I’ve been using the products regularly since December and have also seen no progress whatsoever. I’m a 28 year old male. I have 7 sets of strips left, and then I am out. I don’t know whether to order the refill kit. I’m thinking about incisionless otoplasty with Robert Ruder in Beverly Hills. I live in Los Angeles. I don’t know if surgery is the right option for me, but unfortunately I think it might be the only solution for adults.

  5. Joel ⋅

    Congratulations on getting the job Meghan! I know you’ve been at it a while and it just further proof that persistence is key. I’m sorry to hear that the method hasn’t been working for you. I think after 4-5 months of use (if it truly does take up to 9) without noticeable results is very worrying. Hopefully something will happen soon, or else I fear we may all have to get otoplasty.

  6. G ⋅

    Congratulations Megan! I am close to doing a consult for my daughter with Dr. Ruder in Beverly Hills who apparently does the incisionless otoplasty method. I would love to hear from anyone that has seen him? I am happy to share our experience if we do decide to do it, but that probably won’t be until this summer.

  7. Ian ⋅

    Hi Megan,

    Congratulations on your job, great news… and this sorribes treatment is frustrating isn’t it:(

    I’m in my 30s and have been using the products for just over 3 months and again haven’t seen any results but I’ve bought a refill kit and I have decided to persevere for at least a year, simply in the hope that it will finally start moulding the cartilage.

    I have however started to notice a more prominent line running up my ear in recent weeks, although it hasn’t affected the amount they stick out, but also as I look at them each morning as I take the clips and strips off, its difficult to notice anything.

    I do, as many find, that there aren’t enough pads supplied as these last approx 1 or 2 days, and you aren’t able to purchase extra of these which seem odd.

    Not sure about everyone else, but I cant wear the strips or clips at work as they would look odd, so I’m averaging approx 12 hours for the strip a day and 10 hours with the clip. Considering this isn’t the recommended 15 hours use, I understand it will take a lot longer, and on the Sorribes website it takes between 3 and 9 months for teenagers, so taking all this into consideration is the reason I’m going to give it a good 12 months… fingers crossed!

  8. justajot ⋅

    Congratulations on the job Megan!

    I’m still convinced that forcefully folding back the ears over the time will do the trick (nuns). I haven’t been using the Sorribes products as directed mostly because it’s too much work (at least, IMO). I’ve been toying with the idea of making my own for a while now, and finally came up with a plan for how to do it. The first prototype will make use of the tape provided by Sorribes, Buff Headwear (http://www.buffusa.com/), and Radians Custom Molded Plugs (http://www.radians.com/main/p-282-radians-custom-molded-earplugs.aspx). I’ll be sure to let everyone know if it works out.

  9. Grace ⋅

    HI all, I am in NZ and have an 8 year old who just recently became aware of her ear deformity, thanks to the honesty of her 2 friends who told her her ears look funny because they stick out.

    To those of you who had tried this product, can you guys give me an idea of what the initial cost is? I really wanted to try this product for my daughter while she is young.

    Thanks for your help.

  10. G ⋅

    Hey Megan! Any updates from you or anyone else?

  11. Danny ⋅

    I think she has given up. There used to be weekly Sorribes updates, and now they are far & few in between, if any.

    It is strange that there aren’t more people on the Sorribes website – if they claim it works.

Leave a comment