Posted on

Happy New Year!

Hi guys,
I hope everyone enjoyed the holidays.
I started keeping a Sorribes Test journal to record usage, problems, and tips. Since I had to start fresh, I have been using the products consistently and correctly for just over a week. I decided to share the first week of the journal with you in case it helps any. Let me know if you have any questions about it, and please feel free to include any of your own suggestions. I am not posting any pictures as a week of using the kit could hardly make a difference, but you can still look for my video later in the month, where I will be doing a brand new demo highlighting any and all requests.
Until next week…
Megan

Wed 12/28:
Strip Use: 5 hours
Clip Use: 5 hours
Problems: Ears very sore after about 4 hours. I toughed it out to 5 to “train” them
Tips: None

Thursday 12/29
Strip Use: 15 hours
Clip Use: 3 hours
Problems: After only an hour my ears started to feel sore from the Clips. After taking them off I was pretty comfortable until the end of the day.
Tips: It helped to wrap my hair up in a towel before applying the Strips, with only a little hair getting in the way this time.

Friday 12/30
Strip Use: 8 hours
Clip Use: 8 hours
Problems: After 8 hours my ears felt extremely sore. Taking off the Clips alone did not help this time. I had to take both products off to give my ears a rest.
Tips: I found that if you peel the tip of both sides of adhesive on the Strips, it makes it much easier to remove the backing once it’s been applied to the ear.

Saturday 12/31
My ears need a break today!!

Sunday 1/1
Strip Use: 24 hours!
Clip use: 3 hours
Problems: Ears became sore after 3 hours. Once taking off the Clips, I was able to wear the strips all day.
Tips: If you insert the butterfly-shaped Pad into the Clip BEFORE taking off the backing, it’s a lot easier to control.

Monday 1/2
Strip Use: 24 hours!
Clip Use: 15 hours
Problems: I just can’t handle sleeping in those clips. Even if I fall asleep on my back (which is nearly impossible to do) I turn over onto my side an hour later and then the Clips really hurt my ears. I had to rip them off and go back to sleep.
Tips: None

Tuesday 1/3
Strip Use: 24 hours!
Clip Use: 16 hours
Problems: I still can’t sleep in the Clips. I’m trying to work on a solution for this.
Tips: None

Conclusions for the week
I have been wearing the Strips for over three days straight (changing them daily after showering) and my ears now seem to be cooperating! I need to figure out what to do about sleeping in the Clips. It really doesn’t seem like something feasible at the moment but I am hoping to change that. I see no difference in the appearance of my ears, but that’s to be expected.

5 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. gabrielknights ⋅

    Great job- I can’t wait to get started, seeing this, makes me think I will probably have the same learning curve- looks like you eased into it and that’s the smart way I think! I know sleeping on your back is terrible for you- however, just to play devil’s advocate, they do have those pillows that wrap around your neck (like seen on flights/ airplanes) that could help you sleep in that way- but I agree it would be hard- I’ll have to try and see how annoyed I get when I get mine. I’m lucky I’m a side/ back sleeper so I’m already used to back sleeping.

  2. Joel ⋅

    you must have thick cartilage meghan, i was able to wear the strips at any time pain free. i would wear them 2 days in a row often. the clips though hurt like the dickens if you sleep on them. i don’t think wearing the strips/clips for limited hours each day will have much effect.

    • It was my first week back, man. Give me a break! ;o)
      No but seriously, I can’t wear the Strips pain-free in the beginning. Just as I couldn’t wear headphones, and earmuffs and hats pain-free for most of my life. I find I really need to ease into these products. Maybe it is the cartilage- not sure, but Sorribes told me not to bother with the Clams.
      For the record, I’m entering day six of wearing the strips 24 hours, and can wear the Clips pretty much anytime I am not sleeping. This whole thing will be a “process” for me.

      • Joel ⋅

        not trying to give you a hard time :)! i was just noting the differences we have had in our experiences. i am purchasing a donut shaped pillow to sleep on and will report how it works. i agree that this will be a process, i currently am waiting to use them again until i find a way to make it less painful, the strips are expensive and i want to get the best results in the fastest amount of time. it is a shame that sorribes doens’t provide more information on the product themselves.

  3. Alex ⋅

    This is so helpful!
    Thankyou!

Leave a comment