Posted on

Happy Wednesday!

And belated V-day!

I want to take a minute to thank you guys for getting me out of my Sorribes rut. I guess I was in somewhat of a dark place last week and I was getting impatient with results.
Joel, I took your advice and did a measure. I used a knitting tape measure and I’m currently trying to find something that would be a little more accurate, but you are right about keeping a tally of my progress. I think that would be helpful!

This week was much like any other. I wore the Clips about 16 hours a day, and the Strips almost 24 hours a day. I left the Strips on 3 days in a row without changing them, and I got a blister. As a result I didn’t use any of the products for one of the days in order to let it heal. I sort of stopped using the Spray. It’s not humid here at all, so I really don’t need extra hold.

I have a flight in a couple weeks to visit my family back home. Silly question:
Has anyone ever set off a metal detector with the Clips? I was wondering if I need a note from Dr. Sorribes or something (haha)? I will probably go the easy route and not wear then to the airport, but what would happen if I did?

Does anyone have an interesting Sorribes story to share this week? Post it!
I love hearing from you guys!
Megan

18 responses to “Happy Wednesday!

  1. Joel ⋅

    Hey Meghan! Always good to to read your updates, I look forward to your post every week. I too have found that wearing the strips for more than 2 days at a time is very discomforting and have experienced blisters as well. Let me know how you are doing the measurements, especially where you are measuring the ears. I have begun to wear the strips again and am determined this time to not quit until my ears are fixed. Once you post your log, I will post mine in the same format so that is easy for your followers to understand. As for the clips and the metal detectors I have no idea if it will set it off. Have fun on your vacation! I look forward to your next post.

  2. gabrielknights ⋅

    My interesting story is I’m finally ordering mine! Also, Megan, and everyone… What about measuring with plastic (or metal) calipers? You can find them in home depot/ hardware stores- they will be able to measure (easily) the micro changes like a machinist would measure in millimeters…. Then you can see some changes….this way you can log results and not rely on guess work… I believe I will use this method…. Anyway I hope this works!!!

  3. Melinda ⋅

    Dear Megan,

    I bumped into your blog while trying to find some background information about the Sorribes method. I have a baby girl with problematic ears and have been thinking about trying out this method. I am really interested in your progress and will be following your blog waiting for the updates. If you don’t mind, I have some quetsions about all this:

    1. where did you get the device? did you order it via the internet?
    2. did you exchange some letters of advice with them before you decided to purchace anything from them? (I am asking you this, because I already wrote them asking some things and they did not even bother to answer anything)
    3. do you find it difficult to manage the daily use of the stuff? would you find it complicated if you had to use it on a baby?
    4. how long do you think the starting kit would last?
    5. how long did they suggest you to wear the clips?

    Sorry if I bother you with all my question but in my case we are talking about a baby so I would not like to make any mistakes regarding this question.
    Wish you all the best and thank you in advance for your answer!
    Melinda.

    • Hi Melinda,
      I’m happy to try and help in any way I can!

      1. where did you get the device? did you order it via the internet?
      Yes, I ordered it online.

      2. did you exchange some letters of advice with them before you decided to purchace anything from them? (I am asking you this, because I already wrote them asking some things and they did not even bother to answer anything)
      Yes, I emailed Sorribes and sent them pictures, they did a quick analysis of my ears addressing the problem. I asked them if I could send the product back in the event it did not work, and they said like surgery, they cannot make any guarantees. They always got back to me within 36 hours. The company is based in Denmark, so you need to understand the time difference.

      3. do you find it difficult to manage the daily use of the stuff? would you find it complicated if you had to use it on a baby?
      I wouldn’t say it’s difficult, but I will say for me there was definitely trial and error. Feel free to watch my latest video for a demo. After about two weeks of using the product, I developed my own system and what worked best for me. If I had a child, I would try the product on him/her after trying it on myself. Based on all the research I have done, it seems a child’s ears can be corrected much sooner than my own, and since babies sleep on their backs mostly, they wouldn’t be in any significant pain. It would certainly be less traumatic than surgery.

      4. how long do you think the starting kit would last?
      I think the kit lasts about three months. For a baby you may not even need to buy additional products.

      5. how long did they suggest you to wear the clips?
      They didn’t suggest a specific schedule for the Clips. They just said to wear the Strips about 20 hours a day, and the more often you wear the Clips, the faster you will see results.

      I hope everything works out for you and your family, and please come back and update us all on your progress.
      Cheers,
      Megan

      • Melinda ⋅

        Hi Megan,

        Sorry for not responding sooner but all of us got ill in the past few days and it used up all my energy. 😦
        Thank you for your quick answer, I understood everything well. I still haven’t decided what to do. Maybe I will follow your blog for some more time and decide according to your experience. It is good to have someone sharing information about this method!
        I might contact you later as well, if that is not a problem to you, of course! 🙂

        Best wishes,
        Melinda.

    • lb ⋅

      hi–i just wanted to offer my limited feedback. we just purchased the product for 4-24 months for our son. i also had some problems emailing them–if you tried by using the “contact” button on the website. try actually emailing using their email address–using the contact button twice did not work for me but i heard right back from them as soon I used the email address instead. we literally just received our box in the mail today. unfortunately the instructional manual that they said they would include is not in the box so I am sending them an email tonight. I am anxious to get started but don’t know if we’ll try it tomorrow. We did watch Megan’s video so I have a good sense of how to use the product, but I’m not sure if there are particular tips for using with a baby that we don’t have since we are missing the manual. when we sent in our son’s pictures, we got what pretty much seemed like a form email for his age, saying that it would probably take 3-5 months. if used as much as they suggest, the starter kit is supposed to last about 3 months.

      • Joel ⋅

        The same thing happened to me, they will send you a PDF of the manual via email so that you won’t have to wait, though from what I understand, there is no difference to what the adults do and what the children do. Simply put the strips behind the ear, and the clips on the outside for as many hours a day as you can. As a 22 year old who went through his whole childhood severely self-conscious about my ears, you are doing the right thing as a parent. Please let us know how well the products work for your child.

      • lb ⋅

        joel thanks so much–my husband and i went through a lot of back and forth over the decision, so it is really nice to have some positive feedback about our choice! we are thinking that because it is the weekend we probably won’t hear back until monday or tuesday…and we are anxious to get started…so we may just watch megan’s video again and then at least try the strips today. i will definitely keep everyone reading the blog posted on our results. megan i can’t thank you enough for giving all of us a forum to compare results and just talk about this stuff…there would really be no other alternative without you taking this initiative!

      • Joel ⋅

        If you would like to post your email, I will send it you myself as I have the PDF saved on my computer. Let me know and I can get it to you tomorrow (Sunday). Otherwise I’m sure you’ll here back from them soon.

      • Melinda ⋅

        hi,

        glad to read that there are other people who wish to try this kit on their baby! 🙂 may I ask you how old your baby is? have you succeeded in putting it on? if yes, did it bother the baby? would be nice if we could stay in touch and discuss all the thing about it. 🙂

      • lb ⋅

        joel–thanks so much–i think we figured out how to put them on, but now that it is monday if i don’t hear back from sorribes i’ll definitely take you up on your offer. melinda, my baby is almost eight months old. we put the strips on for the first time yesterday and i think we did ok with it though i already see ways we could improve it–we did not put the adhesive far enough to the edge of his ear so folding it back onto itself really only got good stick near the top of the ear but not so much the middle (not as worried about the bottom). he did not seem to mind at all though at least for now i can definitely say it takes both me and my husband…he is old enough to be very wiggly but not really old enough to understand instructions to stay still. we left the strips on until this morn. by that time they were still stuck to the backs of his ears but his ears were no longer stuck to themselves…even throughout the day yesterday i noticed they were loosening their hold a little bit. my husband pulled them off while he was eating in case it hurt…but he did not seem to mind at all. the backs of his ears are a little red but nothing terrible. we decided to give the ears a break during his morning nap and then plan to put new strips on and try the clips after his bath.

      • Melinda ⋅

        lb,
        thank you for your answer. my baby is 8 months old, too and I imagine we have the same problem. I am also only concerned with the top of her ears and actually it is only her right ear that might cause her problems. she sleeps on her right side with her ear folded- it hurts me even to look at it! I can not imagine how she can sleep that way but she manages it without any problem. 🙂
        we tried another method when she was 4 months old but it made her cry a lot and it was quite complicated to apply on her so I quit it. this is why i am a bit more cautious now. I do not want to see her suffer again.
        I wonder if it would be a problem for you to share pictures of our children’s ears? just to see what we are delaing with. if you say no I can understand that, no problem.
        wish you luck!

      • lb ⋅

        melinda i don’t mind–if you are ok posting your email address i’m happy to send you pictures and answer any other questions you have/share my experience as we go…

      • Melinda ⋅

        lb
        here is my email address:
        lindzi75@gmail.com

        I am looking forward to your letter!

  4. Brenda ⋅

    Looking forward to your progress 🙂

  5. gabrielknights ⋅

    I finally ordered my starter kit 😀 I hope it all works out 🙂 🙂

Leave a comment